George A. Romero (1940- 2017)

“George A. Romero (1940-2017)” By C. A. Brown

Although I didn’t hear the tragic news until about two days after it happened, George A. Romero – king of the zombie genre- is no longer in the land of the living 😦

I’ve been a fan of the zombie genre ever since, as a child, I first happened to read about an exciting upcoming video game called “Resident Evil 2” in the game magazines I read at the time.

During my early-mid teens, I made a point of watching all of Romero’s famous zombie trilogy ( I saw “Night Of The Living Dead” and “Dawn Of The Dead” when they were shown on late-night TV, and I bought an uncensored DVD of “Day Of The Dead” during a holiday in France when I was about fifteen [thank heavens for lax French film censorship 🙂 ]). During my late teens, I also made a point of seeking out the remake of “Dawn Of The Dead” on DVD too.

In addition to this, amongst the many second-hand horror novels I read as a teenager, I also read Romero’s novelisation (co-written by Susan Sparrow) of “Dawn Of The Dead”. In fact, it still takes pride of place on the end of my shelf of ‘cool’ books.

But, George A. Romero has had much more of an impact on my life than this. After all, the modern zombie genre wouldn’t be what it is today if it wasn’t for him. “Left 4 Dead 2“? That was influenced by Romero. “Resident Evil“? Influenced by Romero again. “Shaun Of The Dead“? Inspired by Romero.

I could go on, but if you are a fan of the zombie genre, then Romero is the person you have to thank.

Leave a Reply

